Tags

, , , ,

I write fiction, I make it all up. I tell lies for a living now. Yep, that’s what I do. I used to be a more honest person. In my former career I taught school and I prided myself on my honesty. Not so anymore.

My Daddy was a consumate liar. He was famous for it. He’d tell the same lies so many times that he’d believe them himself. I guess I owe my dad for my gift of writing fiction. He taught me to tell stories. I learned how to embellish the truth.

An idea pops into my head and I run with it. Easy as pie right? I gave up writing historicals because I didn’t have time to do the research. But guess what, even writing contemporary fiction requires research, so I spend many hours gathering facts and articles, maps and pictures all to insure that my stories, while fiction, ring true.

Right now I am working on a romantic suspense set during a major snowstorm in the Atlanta area. Guess what I’ve been researching?

BfKa4-ZIAAAYado
You got it, the great Snowpocalypse of 2014. I’ve found so many details of that event to include in my story. When I started developing this plot, I had no idea who my hero would work for, so I reached out to a retired military friend for that information. I waited a couple months for the answers to my questions because he had to get permission to give me those answers. Wow, I was impressed. Maybe he wasn’t quite as retired as I thought he was.

Once while working on a story that involved agents from the GBI I called the Atlanta office and talked to an agent. He was very informative. I promised him a copy of that book, but haven’t managed to sell it, so he’s still waiting. Now maybe I’ll pull it out and go the indie route, so I can send him his copy.

I’ve decided historicals might be easier after all, history doesn’t change like contemporary times do. Don’t even get me started about sci-fi or paranormal or fantasy. Yes, you make it all up. Yes it’s fiction. But you still have to get the details right and that means research.

Don’t get me wrong, I love the research. I’ll waste… uh work for hours researching. Did I mention I majored in history in college? Well, I did and I love research. I love researching and digging up the little details that make my lies ring true. What about you? How do you make your lies ring true?

